No Shut I No Shut Eye

Sleep chases me
Hoping that I slip into a Bermuda triangle of daze
Gone lost forgotten from the sanity of being awake
Dreams of nightmares or nightmares from dreams
They attack at my flesh while I remain defenseless
What shield I do bare teeters aimlessly
Lavish sword of fatigue betrays the hand that yields it
I am vulnerable

Restless tossed turned kicked covers
Pools of blood await my arrival daily
For the demons of my slumber catch me
Night in night out
I seek comfort in warmth
But it alludes me continuously
Toying with my peace

Attempting to out run dusk
Heavy eyelids trip me
Unwanted past time of the past time picks me up
Torturing to cold sweats unite with fear
I admit defeat yet unable to bow gracefully
To carry on I rest not
I sleep not
Training to live with the rejuvenation
Napping if you will
Praying if you must

Now I lay me down to sleep
I pray the Lord my soul to keep
Count sheep stare at the ceiling
Count backwards from 100
Yet wise enough not to succumb
To my own fate
Destiny is unknown with no destination

I’ve lost many evenings rest
To the demons that haunt me
Nightmares meet me in place of memories of you
Unarmed without armor
Open hopeless ribless
No shut I
No shut eye

About LuHeff
I am one of the lost poets (naw really im lost) Minister/Sigma/MSUSpartan follow at @LuHeff

Leave a Reply

