A Dream Deferred

Broken beaten battered and bruised
Don’t let my size fool you things hurt me too.
I can’t beat the odds unless I break all the rules
so I’d be praise dancing with Satan while moon lighting with Jesus hoping blessings come through…
God give me a reason to continue

Nightmares causes ulcers waking up in my own blood, washing away all visions killing hope in the flood. Push forward or retreat I cry my eyes when I hear the word
if The Lord chose me why all my dreams deferred.

Family becomes absent they don’t see the picture, fake friends become distant when you thought they would ride wit you,
girls don’t understand what it’s like to be a man that sacrifices for the plan that has a destination but no land.

Nightmares causes ulcers waking up in my own blood, washing away all visions killing hope in the flood. Push forward or retreat I cry my eyes when I hear the word
if The Lord chose me why all my dreams deferred.

I black out see it all from the pain to the product.
They clap for me but they don’t have clue about my conduct.
I’m destroyed covered by illusion of my peers,
trying to carry out the mission while I’m still here.

Nightmares causes ulcers waking up in my own blood, washing away all visions killing hope in the flood. Push forward or retreat I cry my eyes when I hear the word
if The Lord chose me why all my dreams deferred.

Turned the other cheek too many times, lifted my head just a couple more. Every time I checked the board I had the losing score. All those opportunities they’ve been granted I begged for and got slanted Took this as a sign that it’s simply not my time, not designed for the struggle and I’m worn from the grind.

Nightmares causes ulcers waking up in my own blood, washing away all visions killing hope in the flood. Push forward or retreat I cry my eyes when I hear the word
if The Lord chose me why all my dreams deferred.

I’m empty I’m feeling lonely my past starting to own me,
no love could console the dreams this world has stole.
My circumstances is different, can’t find anyone to listen,
it’s rage in me thats building.
They’re privileged while I’m hindered. I’m scarred near and far, the light hurts just like the dark, it’s all blackening my heart. My vision has been blurred my speech has been slurred, goals grew wings like a bird…and left me with…

A
A dream
A dream deferred

Unfortunately I regret to inform you all that this will be my final piece until I find peace. The poetry has gotten to a personal level that it’s to “raw” to just share with the world. Thank you all for your continued support, comments, likes and reposts. Poetry for me was a way of coping with the lows of life and celebrating the highs. I hope you all share your gifts and inspire others… Until the words reach you again #Farewell

About LuHeff
I am one of the lost poets (naw really im lost) Minister/Sigma/MSUSpartan follow at @LuHeff

One Response to A Dream Deferred

  1. jojo says:

    Don’t go. I very much enjoyed this piece and now I’m ready to read more.

Leave a Reply

